You've Got to Read This!
Library Home
Log in | First time user registration
320 book reviews found, page 11 of 64. Narrow results by selecting age range:
Print list Click here to view printer-friendly format
Grade range start:    Grade range end:
Book cover image
Read more reviews
of this book

Clementine

Sara Pennypacker (2006), 144 pages
Illustrated by Marla Frazee
Audience: K - 3rd Grade
Category: Fiction, Realistic Fiction
Add Your Comments | Add to MyBookList | Email Review
Clementine is having a DISASTROUS week. Clementine lands in the principal's office after she tries to help her best friend, Margaret, cut some glue from Margaret's hair. From there, things just get worse. Everything she does to try to make the situation better, from drawing Margaret fake hair using permanent marker to cutting off her own hair only gets Clementine into more trouble. What's a girl to do? Fans of Junie B. Jones and Ramona Quimby will enjoy getting to know Clementine.
Similar books: Junie B. Jones series by Barbara Park; Ramona books by Beverly Cleary
Awards nominated: 2014 Bluestem Nominee
Reviewed by: sc
Date read: 6/1/2009
ISBN-10: 0786838825
ISBN-13: 9780786838820
Book cover image
Read more reviews
of this book

Click Here: To Find Out How I Survived Seventh Grade

Denise Vega (2005), 224 pages
Audience: 6th Grade - 8th Grade
Category: Especially for Girls, Fiction, Realistic Fiction
Add Your Comments | Add to MyBookList | Email Review
Erin and Jilly have been best friends all their lives, so Erin is devastated when they're put on different tracks in seventh grade. She won't have any classes at all with Jilly. To make things worse, Serena Worthington is in Erin's track. When she accuses Erin of being Jilly's puppet, Erin can't take it, and she punches Serena before even thinking about it. Not only is Erin in trouble, but rumors spread around the school, and pictures of Pinocchio with Erin's face on them appear on the school walls. Erin writes on her secret web site to cope with everything that's happening. Can she turn her seventh grade year into something great?
Similar books: Access Denied: (And Other Eighth Grade Error Messages) by Denise Vega; The Secret Blog of Raisin Rodriguez by Judy Goldschmidt
Reviewed by: emc
Date read: 4/30/2010
ISBN-10: 0316985600
ISBN-13: 9780316985604
Book cover image
Read more reviews
of this book

Clique

Lisi Harrison (2004), 220 pages
Audience: 5th Grade - 8th Grade
Category: Especially for Girls, Fiction, Realistic Fiction
Add Your Comments | Add to MyBookList | Email Review
This series of girls and their Alpha, Massie Block, will keep you on the edge of your seat with boy troubles, shopping sprees, and OCD School (Octavian Country Day School). These drama queens will keep you coming back.
Book Series: Clique novel
Date read: 5/21/2010
ISBN-10: 0316155772
ISBN-13: 9780316155779
Pixel
Reader Comments
5 out of 5 books5 out of 5 books5 out of 5 books5 out of 5 books5 out of 5 booksClique is Amazing
Commenter: Getamac1998, grade 6
This book is the first in the series, and it is VERY good! There is a lot of detail in the book, and even though the book is pretty unrealistic as far as their lifestyle goes, it still is very good and interesting to read.
Book cover image
Read more reviews
of this book

Close to Famous

Joan Bauer (2011), 250 pages
Audience: 5th Grade - 8th Grade
Category: Fiction, Realistic Fiction
Add Your Comments | Add to MyBookList | Email Review
Foster and her mom leave their home suddenly with just a few things in the car to avoid harm from her mom's boyfriend. They find friendship and the help they need in the small town of Culpepper. The town itself is struggling with the problems created by the opening of a new prison. Foster loves to bake and she shares her cupcakes and muffins with everyone. But she can't read, so she memorizes every recipe that Sonny Kroll, a TV Chef, makes. Sonny has a serious accident and she uses him as inspiration to keep trying to read. With the help of a famous Hollywood actress, Miss Charleena, and the compassion of her friends, she overcomes her struggle with reading. You'll find it interesting how cupcakes become a solution for everything.
Awards nominated: Rebecca Caudill Nominee 2014
Reviewed by: rn
Date read: 5/24/2013
ISBN-10: 0670012823
ISBN-13: 9780670012824
Book cover image
Read more reviews
of this book

Clue Of The Left-Handed Envelope

George E. Stanley (2000), 64 pages
Illustrated by Salvatore Murdocca
Audience: 2nd Grade - 3rd Grade
Category: Fiction, Mystery, Realistic Fiction
Add Your Comments | Add to MyBookList | Email Review
Mr. Merlin, the new third grade teacher, used to be a spy. When Amber Lee reveals she received an anonymous letter, Mr. Merlin challenges the class to solve the mystery. Will Noelle and Todd solve the mystery before Amber Lee solves it herself? This first entry in the Third-Grade Detectives series is great for readers new to chapter books who like to solve puzzles.
Book Series: Third-Grade Detectives
Similar books: A to Z Mysteries by Ron Roy; Jigsaw Jones Mystery Series by James Preller; Encyclopedia Brown Books by Donald Sobol
Reviewed by: emc
Date read: 9/29/2010
ISBN-10: 068986471X
ISBN-13: 9780689821943
Page 11 of 64: Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 Next