• Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
   The West
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• World History:
   Ancient
   Medieval & Renaissance
   Modern
• Return to Introduction


 

Modern World History

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you as you begin a research project. The books listed below are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REFERENCE

at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

Pre-1900 J REFERENCE

J 391.009 PEN Fashion, Costume & Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body decorations, and Footwear Throughout the Ages
J 902.02 CHR Chronicle of the World
J 902.02 WET New York Public Library Book of Chronologies
J 909… Time Frame
J 909 GRO National Geographic Atlas of World History
J 909 OUR Our World’s Heritage
J 909 SOM Dorling Kindersley History of the World
J 909.08 HIS History of the Modern World
J 909.81 OUT Industrial Revolution
J 910.922 EXP Explorers and Discoverers from Alexander the Great to Sally Ride
J 911 HIS Historical Maps on File
J 912 MAP* Maps of the World
J 940.03 PEO Peoples of Europe
* Located on the Atlas Stand

20th Century J REFERENCE

J 341.23 PAT The Oxford 50th Anniversary Book of the United Nations
J 391.009 PEN Fashion, Costume & Culture
J 902.02 CHR Chronicle of the World
J 902.02 WET New York Public Library Book of Chronologies
J 909… Time Frame
J 909 GRO National Geographic Atlas of World History
J 909 OUR Our World’s Heritage
J 909 SOM Dorling Kindersley History of the World
J 909.81 OUT Industrial Revolution
J 909.08 HIS History of the Modern World
J 909.82 CHR Chronicle of the 20th Century
J 909.82 HAN Cold War
J 910.922 EXP Explorers and Discoverers from Alexander the Great to Sally Ride
J 911 HIS Historical Maps on File
J 912 ATL* Oxford Atlas of the World
J 912 MAP* Maps of the World
J 940.03 PEO Peoples of Europe
J 940.3 PEN World War I
J 940.3 SHE Pictorial History of World War I
J 940.303 GRO Grolier Library of World War I
J 940.53 WOR World War II
J 940.5318 HOL Holocaust
J 940.54 MES Pictorial History of World War II
J 940.54 NEW New Grolier Encyclopedia of World War II
J 951.9042 BEN Korean War
J 959.7043 HIL Vietnam War
* Located on the Atlas Stand

Magazines

Additional information may be found in this magazine:

  • Calliope

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings:

  • History, Modern
  • World history
  • World War, 1914-1918
  • World War, 1939-1945

Browsing the Shelves

Information can be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 909—World history
J 912—Maps
J 940—History of Europe
J 950—History of Asia
J 960—History of Africa

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 10/04

©2010, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

• Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
HAPLR - a Top Ten American LibraryHome | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
©2010 St. Charles Public Library